I Weird You!

Caution: Mushy blog post ahead.

Finally. After battling the flu for five days, I’ve vanquished the virulent germs and feel more like my caffeinated self. Five days with a migraine, a sore throat, and no energy. Good riddance!

Last night, when I was finally feeling more like a human (rather than a Ferengi with a sinus cold), I asked my husband if he would make me a cup of his heavenly coffee. Before I go any further, let me assure you that yes, his coffee is quite amazingly heavenly. It’s literally some of the best coffee I’ve tasted. I’m not sure how he does it; I’ve tried to duplicate his process on countless occassions, but never yield the same results. Something about the way he wrestles with the Aeropress? Maybe. Or, could it be the secret concoction of sweet additives that he generously adds to the steaming brew? Possibly. Whatever it is, I don’t care! He brought me coffee, kissed my forehead, and said “I love you, Dear.” I melted. I was sick, nasty, full of germs, and my unruly curls were literally radiating static electricity, yet he still says that he loves me.

Today, we’ve been married for nine months. Being in my early 30’s when I met my husband, I’ve seen a lot. Past relationships, prior engagements, and puppy love have dotted the pages of my book of life, but nothing compares to what I found in my husband. We met through a mutual friend who had no idea we would hit it off. After our first date (Ironman II, dinner, and six hours of talking!), we knew something was different. After our second date, we knew it was something special.

This quote by Robert Fulghum describes it perfectly:

We’re all a little weird.  And life is a little weird.  And when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall into mutually satisfying weirdness – and call it love – true love.  ~Robert Fulghum

Isn’t that just so true of love? We’re all a little weird, life is weird, but when we find that special one with whom we can share our weirdness, it changes our world and launches us into the realm of possibilities. My husband and I are alike in so many ways, completely opposite in others, and both weird to our core. And I think that is what makes us so perfect.

So, my love, this post doesn’t pose a question that could answer the mysteries of life, nor does it really matter to anyone other than you and I, but I wanted to tell my world that you’re the best, that I love you, and that I am so glad God brought me to you.

Leave a Reply

