The Unwritten Slate of Mornings

Try as I might, I am just not a morning person. No amount of coffee can ever change this fact. The first flick of a lightswitch is an act of treason upon my darkened eyes; my upstairs neighbor’s Godzilla-toddler is my mortal enemy; and a purring, I-haven’t-seen-you-in-hours cat brings no joy to my still-sleeping joints. My snooze button is a fair weather friend that delivers precious few moments of additional sleep while continuously heightening a sense of panic each time I succumb to its sweet seduction.

Before I go any further in this blogging adventure, let me confess my addiction: I am purely, competely, shamefully addicted to coffee. Not a normal “sure, I’ll have another cup” addiction, I own two Keurig brewers (one for home and one for work, obviously), three french presses, an Aeropress (best Valentine’s gift ever!), several over-the-mug brewers I bought in China, a percolator, and a husband that makes iced coffee by the gallon jug. I’ve even found ways to use my crock pot to create delightful caffeinated concoctions of my obsession. I refuse to drink Folgers; call me a coffee-snob, it’s ok. That civet coffee? I’ve tried it and actually liked it.

Back to my Monday morning blog. Despite several cups of coffee this morning, I was unprepared for a quote I found online. Check it out:

The moment when you first wake up in the morning is the most wonderful of the twenty-four hours.  No matter how weary or dreary you may feel, you possess the certainty that, during the day that lies before you, absolutely anything may happen.  And the fact that it practically always doesn’t, matters not a jot. The possibility is always there.  ~Monica Baldwin

Why can’t I look at mornings like that? Yes, it’s an optimistic, bubbilicious view of reality, but isn’t it a great concept? Mornings are an unwritten slate. They are the proverbial empty page waiting for the pen of a writer. All of my days are unwritten, yes, but why have I never stopped to consider the building blocks of the unwritten life?

I may never become one of those lucky (?) people who are able to sing along with the radio on their morning commute, but I can look at my mornings as possibilities of greatness. When I begin to view them as such, no matter what the reflection of each day reveals, they will be full of captured moments, gratified potential, and realized possibilities.

Time for another cup of coffee.

Leave a Reply

