Fighting the Darkness: In Memoriam of the Batman Shooting Victims

Like the rest of the country, I was shocked and disheartened this morning as I heard the news of the “Batman Shooting” in Aurora, Colorado. As news commentators cry, “What is this world coming to?” and “How did this happen?”, I am asking myself another question: What kind of childhood will my children remember?

“The youngest reported victim is a 3-month-old, who is said to be doing fine at University Hospital, where 20 patients, including nine in critical condition, are being treated. Another victim is a six-year-old being treated at Children’s Hospital, where a total of six victims were taken. Their condition wasn’t known. Victims were rushed to six area hospitals overall.” ~CBS News

Retro Wishes, Childhood Dreams

“Be home before the streetlights come on,” was the summertime rule in my house. Growing up in the small town of Plymouth, Michigan, during the 80′s was a real-life Sandlot experience. Between the large park around the block, the gas station with the Slurpee machine down the street, and the “downtown” movie theater only a quick bike ride away, my friends and I spent the bulk of our summers outside.  We rode bikes, climbed trees, flew kites, and built lemonade stands. Our parents knew that if we weren’t swimming in Jamie’s pool, we were probably in our tree forts in the park. We didn’t have cell phones or Ipods; we were blissfully entertained by the song of chirping crickets, the light show of dancing fireflies, and the tinkling sounds of the ice cream truck.

A movie theater shooting wasn’t even a figment of my imagination. 

Today, not only do I mourn the loss of innocent life in a Colorado theater, but also the loss of the childhood innocence of a generation. Our children are growing up with the morbid possibility of school shootings, theater massacres, and terrorist bombings. The TV violence of the 80′s has become real-life breaking news. My heart is heavy.

Fighting the Darkness

It’s time for us to stand up for the future of our children, to champion the cause of preserving the innocence of childhood. Our country is not lost; there are still families who eat around a table, children who play in parks, and parents who diligently teach ethics and morals. We have not slipped into the reckless abandon of a lawless society; rather, we have parents, teachers, leaders, and civil servants who protect order and preserve peace.

Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.  ~Ambrose Redmoon

It is the duty of us all to promote courage within our society. We all have influence. I influence people you will never meet and vice versa. It is our civil responsibility to fight the darkness that is slowly descending upon our nation. Our children depend on us to preserve their childhood. Their childhood memories are weighed in the balance of our willingness to stand up for what is right. The cause of morality needs champions.

There isn’t enough darkness in all the world to snuff out the light of one little candle. ~Robert Alden

Morality Rises

This weekend, rather than going to see a movie or a ballgame, why not spend time with your family. Hug them a little tighter, tell them a story of courage in the face of fear, show them a memory of your own retro childhood. Be a child’s hero this weekend. Fly a kite, build a fort, read a book. Let’s make morality rise in our country once again.

The families of the Batman shooting victims are in my prayers. 

8 thoughts on “Fighting the Darkness: In Memoriam of the Batman Shooting Victims

  1. Very nicely said, Jess. I hope that my children can know the happiness of a carefree and safe childhood like I had…

  2. Jessica, I know exactly what you mean. I have grieved many times that my children won’t grow up the way I did. They won’t know that carefree freedom we had :(
    I loved your post and your quotes! I hope more and more people find the strength and courage to fight back against the darkness!
    2 Tim. 1:7

  3. Reblogged this on Abell2Live and commented:
    There are many analogies waiting for the incident at the Batman: The Dark Knight Rises premiere in Colorado. While we may not have the power to stop maniacs like the shooter in Colorado, we can do our part by heeding Paul’s words in Romans 12:21, “Do not be overcome by evil, but overcome evil with good.” We overcome evil by showing doing what is required of Christ-followers: “And what does the LORD require of you? To act justly and to love mercy and to walk humbly with your God” (Micah 6:8).

  4. Wonderfully said.

    I was born in 1970 (don’t do the math), and my summers were very much like yours. We’d spend every waking moment outside in the summer. We didn’t even have a street light rule. As long as my parents knew where I was, I could be outside playing with the neighbor kids.

    Every weekend my mom would give me enough money to either see a movie, or go to the swimming pool. More often then not it was swimming, but there was the odd time that we’d pop into the theater. Not once did I ever feel anything but safe in either place.

    This is a tragedy, a travesty, something that simply should not happen. I can’t be charitable about the person that did this. I sincerely hope he rots in hell.

Leave a Reply

